MGC athletics record broken

Mya Wiapo broke a school record during the Marlborough Girls’ College athletics sports staged at Athletic Park on Wednesday.

In the shot put, Mya set a new college record of 11.03m.

The multi-talented athlete, who prevailed in the shot put, high jump long jump and discus events, shared the under-19 championship crown with Eleri James-Sitters, who took out the 100 and 200m titles.

Brooke Harper took out the under-14 title, Paige O’Brien wrapped up the under-15 section while Delyth James-Sitters was the best in the under-16 grade.

Main results

Under 14

Brooke Harper - 1


in championship (38 pts) 1


in 100m, 200m, 400m, Long Jump and High Jump; 2nd Shot Put, Discus.

Bella Rayner - 2nd in championship (18 pts) 1st in 800m; 1500m, open 3000m.

Lily Smith - 3rd= in championship (12 pts) 2nd 200m, Long Jump, 3rd 100m, High Jump.

Maddie Large - 3rd= championship (12 pts) 1st Shot Put, 2nd Javelin, 3rd Discus

MIllie Large - 1st Discus

Eliza Glover - 1st Javelin

Under 15

Paige O’Brien - 1st Championship (24 pts) 1st 100m, 200m, 400m, Long Jump.

Ella Sowman - 2nd Championship (18 pts) 1st 1500m, 2nd 200m, Javelin, 3rd Long Jump, 400m.

Erin Green - 3rd championship (16 pts) 1st 800, Javelin, 2nd 400m

Hazel Glover - 1st Shot Put

Charlotte Watty - 1st High Jump

Isabella Tupouto’a - 1st Discus

Under 16

Delyth James-Sitters -1st Championship (32 pts) 1st 400m, 800, 1500m, Long Jump, 2nd 100m, 200m.

Miela Paul - 2nd Championship (20 pts) 1st High Jump, Discus, 2nd Shot Put, Javelin

Kayla Parker - 3rd Championship (14 pts) 1st 100m, 200m, 3rd 1500m

Taylor Wareham - 1st Shot Put

Ella-Rose Richards - 1st Javelin

Under 19

Eleri James-Sitters - 1st = Championship (26 pts) 1st 100m, 200, 2nd Long Jump, Shot Put, Javelin, 3rd 400m

Mya Wiapo - 1st= Championship (26 pts) 1st Long Jump, High Jump, Shot Put, Discus, 3rd Javelin

Lucy Harman 3rd Championship (18 pts) 1st 400m, 800m, 1500m

Li’i Solomona - 1st Javelin

House Points:

1 Kaituna 1271 pts; 2 Wairau 1135; 3 Ōpaoa 988; 4 Awatere 952.

Age group champions

- U14: Brooke Harper (Ōpaoa). U15: Paige O’Brien (Awatere). U16: Delyth James-Sitters (Kaituna). U19 Eleri James-Sitters (Kaituna) and Mya Wiapo (Wairau).