Dewar Cup winner decided on Picton golf course

The drinks were on Picton golfer Jack Evans, who claimed the main prize when the 82nd Dewar Cup and Marlborough Stroke Championships were staged at the Picton Golf Club on Saturday and Sunday.

The Dewar Cup is a nett competition for every player over 36 holes, the winner receiving a large bottle of the sponsor's product, while the Marlborough stroke is a gross competition competed for in grades, also over 36 holes.

Brook Hale, from Rarangi, won the Marlborough stroke senior title, Picton’s Jeff Pascoe claimed the intermediate crown, while Lewis Wilson and Bradley Crabb, both from Waahi Taakaro, won the junior titles.

Brook Hale won the Marlborough stroke senior title. Photo Peter Jones

The Dewar Cup was first played for at the Picton Golf Club in 1935 after the cup was presented to the Picton Golf Club from the Dewar Whiskey Company in Perthshire, Scotland. It has been played for every year since except for the years during World War 2.

The 50-strong field, who came from as far afield as Hamilton and Queenstown, enjoyed excellent playing conditions on both days.


Dewar Cup – 1 Jack Evans (Picton) 129 nett; 2 Lewis Wilson (Waahi Taakaro) 136; 3 Lance Morris (Ngahinepouri) 137; 4 Craig McIsaac (Picton) 138; 5 Billy Reeves (Picton)139 c/b; 6 Bradley Crabb (Waahi Taakaro) 139.

Marlborough stroke - Senior: 1 Brook Hale (Rarangi), 143 Gross; 2 Blair Bavin (Rarangi) 146; 3 Lance Morris (Ngahinepouri) 147; 4 Trent Davies (Blenheim) 150; 5 Ezra Kahaki (Rarangi) 151.

Intermediate - 1 Jeff Pascoe (Picton) 161 Gross; 2 Kaharoa Bradley (Rarangi) 163; 3 Jack Evans (Picton) 165; 4 Craig McIsaac (Picton) 170; 5 Paul McCrae (Waahi Taakaro) 172.

Junior A - 1 Lewis Wilson (Waahi Taakaro) 176; 2 Leigh Somerville Smith (Picton) 180; 3 Nick Wright (Picton) 188; 4 Tom Weiss (Waahi Taakaro) 189; 5 Mark Ivamy (Picton) 190 c/b.

Junior B - 1 Bradley Crabb (Waahi Taakaro) 201.