President's tennis wrapped up

Marlborough club teams claimed three of the four titles at stake when the ever-popular Marlborough Tennis president’s grade competition was decided last Tuesday.

After the competition lost several weeks of play due to weather conditions during the season it was decided that no finals would be played this year, the winners being decided on total points scored over the various rounds.

Division one was taken out by the consistent Rapaura Masters crew, who shaded their clubmates , Rapaura Wairau River, 50 points to 46.

In division two, Marlborough Power scored 53 points, holding off the challenge of second-placed Marlborough Marvels, with 48.5.

Division three winners were Marlborough Tennis the Menace (48 points), captained by MTA president Lindsay Parkinson. They ended up four points ahead of second-placed Rapaura Matador.

In division four MTC Boom Boom Time were clear winners, scoring 59 points, 17 ahead of their closest rivals, Rapaura Shiraz.

Winning teams

Division one

Rapaura Masters - Hiro Kishida, Stephen Dempster, Tony Fenemor, Donna Clark (captain), Pauline Fudge.

Division two

Marlborough Power - Brian Powell, Simon Bamford, Glen Mackie, Mary-Anne Sloper (captain), Jacqui Swanston.

Division three

Marlborough Tennis the Menace - Lindsay Parkinson (captain), George Elworthy, Jamie Marfell, Anna Poff, Hannah Blakely.

Division four

Marlborough Boom Boom Time - Kel Ritchie, Andrew Kersley, Marianne Jury (captain), Sarah Wichman, Alice Taylor.