Mon, Dec 18, 2023 2:40 PM

Rowers attend Otago champs


Peter Jones

Wairau crews showed plenty of early-season potential during the truncated Otago Rowing championships staged at Lake Ruataniwha recently.

The Marlborough-based athletes enjoyed plenty of success on Saturday, getting in some invaluable racing against other South Island crews despite some races being shortened due to the worsening weather conditions.

After day one Wairau crews had booked places in six A finals and two B finals.

Unfortunately, the majority of races on Sunday, including most of the finals, were blown out.

A highlight was provided by Fred Vavasour, who went well in the men's open single, qualifying for the final with the third fastest time overall despite being in lane 10 which had the worst conditions. He also won his heat in the men's open double with Ollie Stephens from Nelson and finished third in the men’s open pair which was a straight final, racing alongside Avon’s Josh Syme.

Wairau heat winners:

Girls’ under-18 coxed four (Grace Straker, Abby Craig, Ella Barnes, Mila van Rensberg, Molly Wilkin - cox)

Boys’ under-16 double (Hunter Marfell, Toby Randall)

Boys’ under-17 double (Louis Girling, Blake Campbell)

Women’s club single (Lexi Timpson)

Girls’ under-18 single (Mila van Rensberg)

Boys’ under-16 coxed four (Willem Rowe, Toby Randall, Hunter Marfell, Drew Materoa, Blake Pitts - cox

Marlborough App Logo
Marlborough App
Marlborough App is owned by Top South Media. a locally owned media company.