Mon, Apr 29, 2024 8:15 PM

Netballers ready for centre pass


Peter Jones

Marlborough Netball’s 2024 season kicked off in perfect autumn conditions with a pre-season tournament at Lansdowne Park on Saturday.

Twenty-nine senior teams took part, two coming from Nelson, while eight year 7-8 sides participated. The tournament, now a regular fixture on the local calendar, gave players and clubs the opportunity to test their combinations, and fitness, before competitions begin in earnest on Saturday.

Meanwhile, the premier competition, which will be contested by only five teams in 2024 – the second Pelorus side having withdrawn this year – is set to begin on Tuesday at Marlborough Lines Stadium 2000.

Renwick player Efa Watkins sends a pass down the court on Saturday.

This season’s premier teams:

Marlborough Girls’ College: Anel Moli, Bree Flynn, Devonte Walker, Elizabeth Bowron, Ella Sowman, Hazel Glover, Izzy Tupouto’a, Liz Pousima, Paige O’Brien, Sophia Saggers, Violet Speakman, Sophia Nicholas. Coaches: Liv Pinkerton and Jordy Peipi.

Tokomaru: Gemma Hika, Shannon McManaway, Kayla Wilson, Hana Wilson, Ayla Looms, Dakota Tepuia, Eden Hika, Gi Burtenshaw, Hayley Turoa, Teish O’Connell. Coaches: Vanessa Hika and Ang Tepuia.

Pelorus: Paige Lovell, Oriana Houra, Stormy Tupara, Jordy Peipi, Lesieli Taufa, Cara Gallop, Kelsie Fitzpatrick, Ella Smith, Brittney Lyons, Kelly West. Coaches: Courtney Taufa and Laura Murphy.

Harlequins Totalspan: Olivia Robinson, Wendy Trolove, Poppy Lane, Sophie Robinson, Delyth James-Sitters, Bridget Gane, Simone Pedersen, Zoe Scaife, Lauren Murray, Wiri Bristowe, Jack Frew. Coach:  Shiloh Walsh.

Harlequins Fairweathers: Aimee Jones, Mona Waikato, Kaya Walsh, Mahina Henry-Campbell, Heidi Cuttle, Kayla Collins, Jorja Bacchus, Aston Underwood, Bianca Olivier. Coach: Lesley Wilson.

Tuesday’s draw: Harlequins Totalspan v Tokomaru Crafar Crouch 6pm, Harlequins Fairweathers v Pelorus Edridge Contracting 7.30pm; MGC Liquid Action a bye.

Marlborough App Logo
Marlborough App
Marlborough App is owned by Top South Media. a locally owned media company.